Product Reviews by Dorn: Classic American Brand Duck Head

Email this to a friend

Nice Move

I have been bestowed the opportunity to write reviews for some of my favorite products available at Man Outfitters, for several reasons: 1) I have style and people know it, 2) people look up to me, 3) they have some really sharp merch that needs pushing, and perhaps most importantly, 4) a lot of you dress like total shit and flat-out need my help. I’m all over social media, guys. I see the pics.

Man Outfitters sends me the shirt, pants, shoes, SCUD missiles, etc. that I choose to review because I like and endorse them, I wear them around or try them out, assess their quality and style, then I tell you all about them. Easy enough.

This week, I am featuring products from a clothing company as old and American as the Civil War, Duck Head. Duck Head was established in Nashville in 1865 by two brothers, and all of their shirts and pants are American made. The Duck Head motto, “Made to be worn,” is a testament to the quality of their offering. Made to be worn and made to last, Duck Head products are durable and of high quality.

Their original trousers were cut and sewn from closely woven tent material known as “duck,” the brand’s namesake. These canvas khakis “proved to be tough enough for our brave troops during WWII, and stylish enough for the likes of Hank Williams.” I’m sold.

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 3.07.40 PM

The Richmond Polo

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 3.03.32 PM

by Duck Head
Color: Chapel Hill Stripe
Price: $95
Available at:

I don’t always feel right telling you guys that “this is my favorite blah blah blah” because I realize it seems like total bullshit. Comes off as disingenuous. I get it. I mean it, though, this shirt is currently my opening day starter among my polos. The cut is flawless for my size and build. It’s absurdly comfortable and form-fitting. It also has a little stretch to it and the coveted moisture wicking qualities. It’s just a great damn shirt. And that iconic Duck Head logo… Come on.

A photo posted by Dillon Cheverere (@roger_dorn) on

Nashville Shorts – 9″ Inseam

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 3.03.57 PM

by Duck Head
Color: Annapolis
Price: $89.50
Available at:

Classic shorts that hit right above the knee. They, too, have some stretch in them (they’re made of 3% Spandex), which is nice. They’re pretty comfortable. What more do you need to know? They’re very high quality shorts, and they have the Duck Head logo above the left rear pocket, so the girls will know you came to play.

Winston Gingham Button Down

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 3.04.38 PM

by Duck Head
Color: Chapel Hill
Price: $135
Available at:

Very well made, classic design, tailored fit, and with a little hidden touch of sex inside the bottom interior placket. This shirt is a staple piece to any wardrobe. To add a frame of reference, I’m 6’1″, 180 lbs. and I wear a large in the button down. This shirt fits me like a slim fit, which is what I prefer.

Duck Head Chino Hat

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 3.04.16 PM

by Duck Head
Color: Chapel Hill
Price: $30
Available at:

It’s a hat. It’s just a simple, good-looking hat.

The only beef I have with Duck Head — actually, just the people at Duck Head — is that they didn’t send me this t-shirt. It’s whatever.