NEW TFM Videos Section

Watch thousands of hilarious videos from college campuses across the country.

Watch Now

American Hero Bill Murray To Recieve Award For American Humor

======= ======= ====== ====== ====== ===== ==== ====== ====== ===== ==== ======= ======= ====== ====== ====== ===== ==== ====== ====== ===== ====


Legendary comedian/actor Bill Murray will be the latest recipient of the Kennedy Center’s annual Mark Twain Prize For American Humor. Last year, Eddie Murphy won the prize. Other past recipients of the award include Richard Pryor, Steve Martin, George Carlin, Bill Cosby, Will Ferrell, Ellen Degeneres, Tina Fey, and Jay Leno.

The former SNL cast member has starred in countless classics like Caddyshack, Ghostbusters, Stripes, and Groundhog Day, just to name a few, so it’s not surprising that he is this year’s choice.

From NY Times:

In a statement, Deborah F. Rutter, the president of the Kennedy Center, said that Mr. Murray was being celebrated for work that has gratified audiences “with unforgettable performances from an eclectic cast of characters that have become ingrained in our cultural vernacular.” (Which is nice.)

Ms. Rutter continued: “An award-winning writer, actor and comedian, his brilliant wit and infectious spirit continue to inspire our laughter across generations both on and off the screen. His unique brand of humor seems to defy time itself — always remaining relevant and relatable to new audiences — much like our award’s namesake.”

Bill Murray went on to say that he was honored by the award, also this: “I believe Mark Twain has rolled over in his grave so much for so long, that this news won’t disturb his peace.” What a guy.

The ceremony will take place on October 23, and will be broadcast on TV at a later date.

[via NY Times]

Image via Youtube

Email this to a friend

Wally Bryton

TFM's most beloved writer

6 Comments You must log in to comment, or create an account
Show Comments

Download Our App

Take TFM with you. Get

The Feed