NEW TFM Videos Section

Watch thousands of hilarious videos from college campuses across the country.

Watch Now

Auburn Just Added Three National Championships In Football

======= ======= ====== ====== ====== ===== ==== ====== ====== ===== ==== ======= ======= ====== ====== ====== ===== ==== ====== ====== ===== ====

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 3.34.44 PM

The Southeastern Conference, where teams win national championships years, or even decades, after the seasons conclude in which they claim them.

Because the NCAA doesn’t officially recognize Division 1A/FBS football national titles, some universities tend to go rogue, occasionally feeling inclined to claim them, deserved or not. The University of Alabama is far and away the worst culprit of this practice. Texas A&M does it, too. And now, we can add Auburn to this sketchy mix.


The Auburn Tigers began competing in intercollegiate football in 1892 and have amassed the 12th most wins in major college history. The NCAA recognizes Auburn as National Champions in 2010, 1993, 1983, 1957 and 1913.

The titles recently added are 1913, 1983, and 1993. The ’93 title is an interesting one–Auburn went undefeated that season but was ruled ineligible for postseason play.

[via, Deadspin]

Email this to a friend

Dillon Cheverere

Dillon Cheverere (@DCheverere) is the Vice President of Media for Grandex, Inc. Email:

32 Comments You must log in to comment, or create an account
Show Comments

Download Our App

Take TFM with you. Get

The Feed